It was in 1947 that the inhabitants realized their desire to change the name of their country, so from the ashes of Porto Longone Porto Azzurro was born.
Natural port used since ancient times in the ancient Tyrrhenian routes, Porto Azzurro derives its existing urban structure from the Spanish domination. The Fort Longone also called Fort S.Giacomo was built in 1563 by order of Philip II of Spain with a feature that is reminiscent of the star shaped citadel of Antwerp. Seventy years later, at the behest of the Spanish governor Don Focardo, the second bulwark was built on the western tip of the bay, Fort Focardo.
Subsequent political events took Porto Longone to be under various domains, even with the torment of constant pirate raids. It was disputed until 1802 when the entire island became French. Later on, under the Grand Duchy of Tuscany, the country became a penal colony.
Starting from the picturesque main square overlooking the sea, the country grows in characteristic narrow streets and picturesque corners that give way to the imposing Spanish fortress of the XVII century, Fort St. James, the current seat of the house of confinement.
Have to visit the shrine of Our Lady of Montserrat, whose relationship with the homonymous sanctuary near Barcelona is honest with the perfect reproduction of the image of the Spain Virgin, built in the seventeenth century by the Spanish governor y Leon, and the Spanish Church with the marble monument of General Diego Alarcson.
There are many excursions that can be made, among them a visit to the Lake of Terranera and Montserrat.
Market day: Saturday.